ISO, IEC Awarded Emmy For Standards That Provide High Quality Audio and Video Programming to Consumers

NEW YORK, October 2, 1996 -- The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) awarded its 1995-1996 Engineering Emmy for Outstanding Achievement in Technological Development to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) for their standardization work in media, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), the U.S. member body of ISO announced today.

The award was presented to a joint ISO/IEC international subcommittee that developed standards (MPEG-1, MPEG-2, and JPEG) related to coded representation of video, audio and systems for digital compression and coding of continuous-tone still images. MPEG compression technology is a cost-effective means of delivering high quality audio and video programming to consumers by reducing the bandwidth necessary to carry the signal to homes and businesses across the globe. JPEG has revolutionized still image technology for both consumers and commercial interests with cost effective high quality still pictures.

ANSI President and CEO Sergio Mazza, stated, On behalf of the U.S. standards community, ANSI is pleased that ISO and IEC and their international standards have been recognized for the valuable role they play in the entertainment industry. We commend the participants of the ISO/IEC subcommittee for developing standards that provide the highest level of efficiency to the user.

Hundreds of dedicated individuals from 26 countries worked to develop each of these standards, and this award represents an excellent achievement by the international community, said Dr. Daniel T. Lee of Hewlett-Packard Company and leader of the working group, responsible for developing the JPEG standard.

Pete Schirling of the IBM Corporation, head of the U.S. delegation to the working group in charge of developing the MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 standards noted that U.S. representatives from large and small corporations, organizations, and government were instrumental in the development of the standards. They can take pride in what has been accomplished, as this award represents a successful joint effort by all groups working together, he said.

The standards being recognized are: MPEG-1 (ISO/IEC-11172, Coding of moving pictures and associated audio for digital storage media at up to about 1,5 Mbit/s); MPEG-2 (ISO/IEC-13818, Generic coding of moving pictures and associated audio information); and JPEG (ISO/IEC-10918, Digital compression and coding of continuous-tone still images). The standards were developed by a subcommittee (Coding of audio, picture, multimedia, and hypermedia information) of the ISO/IEC Joint Technical Committee 1 on information technology. JTC-1 is administered by ANSI on behalf of the United States.

The Emmy Award was presented October 1 at a ceremony held in New York City. Accepting the award on behalf of the ISO/IEC Subcommittee were: Dr. Hiroshi Yasuda, Chairman of Subcommittee 29, Japan; Dr. Leonardo Chiariglione, Convener, Subcommittee 29, Working Group 11, Italy; Dr. Daniel Lee, Convener, Subcommittee 29, Working Group 1, United States; and Ms. Narumi Hirose, Secretariat, Subcommittee 29, Japan.

ANSI is a private, non-profit organization that coordinates the U.S. voluntary standards system, bringing together interests from private and public sectors to develop voluntary standards for U.S. industries. ANSI is the official U.S. member body to the world's leading standards bodies: the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).

The Institute's membership includes approximately 1,300 national and international companies and 285 government agencies, institutions and professional, technical, trade, educational, labor, and consumer organizations.

This press release was issued by ANSI, the US representative to ISO/IEC JTC 1. An International Delegation Representing JTC 1, SC 29, and WG 11 attend Tuesday Evening festivities. Dr. Hiroshi Yasuda accepted the Emmy on behalf of all who participated in the development of MPEG and JPEG.


Marilyn Hernandez
(212) 642-4915

Standing from left to right:
Mrs. Hiroshi Yasuda
Ms. Narumi Hirose - SC 29 Secretariat
Dr. Joan Mitchell - JPEG Project Editor
Mrs. Daniel Lee
Dr. Daniel Lee - WG 1 Convenor (JPEG)
Ms. Frances Schrotter - Former JTC 1 Secretariat
Ms. Lisa Rajchel - Current JTC 1 Secretariat
Dr. Leonardo Chiariglione - WG 11 Convenor (MPEG)

Kneeling from left to right
Mr. Peter Schirling - US HoD to WG 11
Dr. Hiroshi Yasuda - SC 29 Chairman
Mr. Tsuneyoshi Hidaka - Past WG 11 Test SG Rapporteur