Tech Insider					     Technology and Trends


			      USENET Archives

From: Linus Torvalds <Linus.Torvalds@helsinki.fi>
Newsgroups: comp.os.linux.announce,comp.os.linux.development,comp.os.linux.misc
Subject: Linux 1.0---A better UNIX than Windows NT
Followup-To: comp.os.linux.misc
Date: 14 Mar 1994 12:51:16 GMT
Organization: University of Helsinki
Lines: 138
Approved: linux-announce@tc.cornell.edu (Lars Wirzenius)
Message-ID: <2m1mk4$qc9@hydra.Helsinki.FI>
NNTP-Posting-Host: hydra.helsinki.fi
Summary: Linux 1.0 released
Keywords: Linux Kernel 1.0 Academy Awards
X-Moderator-Added-Keywords: universe, end of


Finally, here it is.  Almost on time (being just two years late is
peanuts in the OS industry), and better than ever:

	Linux kernel release 1.0

This release has no new major features compared to the pl15 kernels, but
contains lots and lots of bugfixes: all the major ones are gone, the
smaller ones are hidden better.  Hopefully there are no major new ones. 

The Linux kernel can be found as source on most of the Linux ftp-sites
under the names

	linux-1.0.tar.gz		(full source)
	linux-1.0.patch.pl15.gz		(patch against linux-0.99pl15)
	linux-1.0.patch.alpha.gz	(patch from linux-pre-1.0)

it should be available at least at the sites

	ftp.funet.fi:
		pub/OS/Linux/PEOPLE/Linus	(now)
	sunsite.unc.ed:
		pub/Linux/Incoming		(now)
		pub/Linux/kernel		(soon)
	tsx-11.mit.edu:
		pub/linux/sources/system	(soon)
	ftp.cs.helsinki.fi:
		pub/Software/Linux/Kernel	(now)

This release finally moves Linux out of Beta status and is meant as a
base for distributions to build on.  It will neither change Linux'
status as FreeWare under the GPL, nor will it mean the end of
development on Linux.  In fact many new features where held back for
later releases so that 1.0 could become a well tested and hopefully
stable release. 

The Linux kernel wouldn't be where it is today without the help of lots
of people: the kernel developers, the people who did user-level programs
making linux useful, and the brave and foolhardy people who risked their
harddisks and sanity to test it all out.  My thanks to you all. 
(Editorial note: if you think this sounds too much like the Academy
Awards ceremony, just skip this: it's not getting any better.)

Thanks to people like Aaron Kushner, Danny ter Haar and the authors of
the AnwenderHandbuch (and others) who have helped me with hardware or
monetary donations (and to the Oxford Beer Trolls and others who took
care of the drinkware).  And thanks to Dirk, who helped me write this
announcement despite my lazyness ("hey, it's just another release, who
needs an announcement anyway?"). 

To make a long and boring story a bit shorter and boring, here is at
least a partial list of people who have been helping make Linux what it
is today.  Thanks to you all,

	Krishna Balasubramanian <balasub@cis.ohio-state.edu>
	Arindam Banerji <axb@cse.nd.edu>
	Peter Bauer <100136.3530@compuserve.com>
	Fred Baumgarten <dc6iq@insu1.etec.uni-karlsruhe.de>
	Donald Becker <becker@super.org>
	Stephen R. van den Berg <berg@pool.informatik.rwth-aachen.de>
	Hennus Bergman <hennus@sky.nl.mugnet.org>
	Ross Biro <bir7@leland.Stanford.Edu>
	Bill Bogstad <bogstad@cs.jhu.edu>
	John Boyd <boyd@cis.ohio-state.edu>
	Andries Brouwer <aeb@cwi.nl> 
	Remy Card <Remy.Card@masi.ibp.fr>
	Ed Carp <ecarp@netcom.com>
	Raymond Chen <raymondc@microsoft.com>
	Alan Cox <iiitac@pyr.swan.ac.uk>
	Laurence Culhane <loz@holmes.demon.co.uk>
	Wayne Davison <davison@borland.com>
	Thomas Dunbar <tdunbar@vtaix.cc.vt.edu> 
	Torsten Duwe <duwe@immd4.informatik.uni-erlangen.de>
	Drew Eckhardt <drew@cs.Colorado.EDU>
	Bjorn Ekwall <bj0rn@blox.se>
	Doug Evans <dje@cygnus.com>
	Rik Faith <faith@cs.unc.edu>
	Juergen Fischer <fischer@server.et-inf.fho-emden.de>
	Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@sw.oz.au>
	Ralf Flaxa <rfflaxa@immd4.informatik.uni-erlangen.de>
	Nigel Gamble <nigel%gamble.uucp@gate.net>
	Philip Gladstone <philipg@onsett.com>
	Bruno Haible <haible@ma2s2.mathematik.uni-karlsruhe.de>
	Andrew Haylett <ajh@gec-mrc.co.uk>
	Dirk Hohndel <hohndel@informatik.uni-wuerzburg.de>
	Nick Holloway <alfie@dcs.warwick.ac.uk>
	Ron Holt <ron@novell.com>
	Rob W. W. Hooft <hooft@EMBL-Heidelberg.DE>
	Michael K. Johnson <johnsonm@sunsite.unc.edu>
	Fred N. van Kempen <waltje@uwalt.nl.mugnet.org>
	Olaf Kirch <okir@monad.swb.de>
	Ian Kluft <ikluft@thunder.sbay.org>
	Rudolf Koenig <rfkoenig@immd4.informatik.uni-erlangen.de>
	Bas Laarhoven <bas@vimec.nl>
	Warner Losh <imp@boulder.parcplace.com>
	H.J. Lu <hjl@nynexst.com>
	Tuomas J. Lukka <Tuomas.Lukka@Helsinki.FI>
	Kai M"akisara <Kai.Makisara@vtt.fi>
	Pat Mackinlay <pat@it.com.au>
	John A. Martin <jmartin@csc.com>
	Bradley McLean <brad@bradpc.gaylord.com> 
	Craig Metz <cmetz@tjhsst.edu>
	William (Bill) Metzenthen <billm@vaxc.cc.monash.edu.au>
	Rick Miller <rick@discus.mil.wi.us>
	Corey Minyard <minyard@wf-rch.cirr.com>
	Eberhard Moenkeberg <emoenke@gwdg.de>
	Ian A. Murdock <imurdock@shell.portal.com>
	Johan Myreen <jem@vipunen.hut.fi>
	Stefan Probst <snprobst@immd4.informatik.uni-erlangen.de>
	Daniel Quinlan <quinlan@bucknell.edu>
	Florian La Roche <rzsfl@rz.uni-sb.de>
	Robert Sanders <gt8134b@prism.gatech.edu>
	Peter De Schrijver <stud11@cc4.kuleuven.ac.be>
	Darren Senn <sinster@scintilla.santa-clara.ca.us>
	Chris Smith <csmith@convex.com>
	Drew Sullivan <drew@lethe.north.net> 
	Tommy Thorn <Tommy.Thorn@daimi.aau.dk>
	Jon Tombs <jon@gtex02.us.es>
	Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
	Simmule Turner <simmy@digex.com>
	Stephen Tweedie <sct@dcs.ed.ac.uk>
	Thomas Uhl <uhl@sun1.rz.fh-heilbronn.de> 
	Juergen Weigert <jnweiger@immd4.informatik.uni-erlangen.de>
	Matt Welsh <mdw@sunsite.unc.edu>
	Marco van Wieringen <mvw@mercury.mcs.nl.mugnet.org>
	Stephen D. Williams <sdw@lig.net>
	G\"unter Windau <gunter@mbfys.kun.nl>
	Lars Wirzenius <lars.wirzenius@helsinki.fi>
	Roger E. Wolff <wolff@dutecai.et.tudelft.nl>
	Frank Xia <qx@math.columbia.edu> 
	Eric Youngdale <eric@tantalus.nrl.navy.mil>
	Orest Zborowski <orestz@microsoft.com>

A more detailed list with contact and description information can be
found in the CREDITS file that accompanies the kernel sources. 

--
Mail submissions for comp.os.linux.announce to: linux-announce@tc.cornell.edu
PLEASE remember Keywords: and a short description of the software.

			        About USENET

USENET (Users’ Network) was a bulletin board shared among many computer
systems around the world. USENET was a logical network, sitting on top
of several physical networks, among them UUCP, BLICN, BERKNET, X.25, and
the ARPANET. Sites on USENET included many universities, private companies
and research organizations. See USENET Archives.

		       SCO Files Lawsuit Against IBM

March 7, 2003 - The SCO Group filed legal action against IBM in the State 
Court of Utah for trade secrets misappropriation, tortious interference, 
unfair competition and breach of contract. The complaint alleges that IBM 
made concentrated efforts to improperly destroy the economic value of 
UNIX, particularly UNIX on Intel, to benefit IBM's Linux services 
business. See SCO v IBM.

The materials and information included in this website may only be used
for purposes such as criticism, review, private study, scholarship, or
research.

Electronic mail:			       WorldWideWeb:
   tech-insider@outlook.com			  http://tech-insider.org/